Wood and Pulp Sourcing Policy

Asia Symbol’s Wood and Pulp Sourcing Policy supplements Asia Symbol’s Sustainability Policy[1] and forms part of our commitment to fully implement the Royal Golden Eagle (RGE) group’s Forestry, Fibre, Pulp & Paper Sustainability Framework[2].Asia Symbol will fully implement the components of the Framework that are relevant to our manufacturing operation sand will request our wood and pulp suppliers to implement those components relevant to them.

Our Commitment

Asia Symbol actively contributes to responsible forest management and strives to move the global supply chain of wood and pulp towards sustainability and to protect ancient and endangered forests by working together with suppliers and other relevant stakeholders.

Asia Symbol avoids using wood chips and pulp that are:

  • • illegally harvested or traded
  • • from forests of high conservation value (HCV)[3], high carbon stock (HCS)[4], from ancient and endangered forests (such as Indonesia’s natural tropical forest, Canada’s Boreal Forest, Coastal Temperate Rainforests, the Amazon and West Africa)or from the habitats of endangered species
  • • from natural forests
  • • from genetically modified trees
  • • obtained in violation of the rights of indigenous peoples and communities to give or withhold their Free, Prior and Informed Consent (FPIC) to operate on lands where they hold legal, communal or customary rights
  • • obtained in violation of workers’ rights or any of the ILO’s Declaration on Fundamental Principles and Rights at Work

 

Supplier Engagement

Asia Symbol encourages our wood chip and pulp suppliers to obtain Chain of Custody certifications such as Forest Stewardship Council (FSC®), Programme for the Endorsement of Forest Certification (PEFC®) or Chinese Forest Certification (CFCC®).

We also encourage our suppliers to implement relevant national-level sustainable forest management practices, a no burn policy in their areas of operations, as well as perform landscape level conservation of forests in areas of particular conservation concern.

Asia Symbol has a preference for FSC-certified wood chips and pulp, and for suppliers who contribute to forest protection and responsible peatland management.

Asia Symbol requests that our suppliers respect the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and acknowledge indigenous and rural communities’ legal, customary or user rights to their territories, land and resources. To do so, we request that our suppliers acknowledge the right of indigenous peoples and rural communities to give or withhold their Free, Prior and Informed Consent (FPIC) before new tree plantations are developed, resolve complaints and conflicts and remediate human rights violations through a transparent and accountable grievance mechanism and mutually agreeable dispute resolution process.

Asia Symbol will re-evaluate and/or terminate the relationship with a supplier who cannot or will not meet the goals of this Wood and Pulp Sourcing Policy.

Traceability and Transparency

Asia Symbol will implement a supply chain tracing system to track the origin of the wood chips and pulp.

Asia Symbol will implement a verification process conducted by independent third parties and report our progress in a transparent manner.

Asia Symbol’s aim is to constantly improve implementation and responsible, sustainable production.

 

Issued on: 8 December, 2015

Last update: 28 September, 2017

 

[1] Asia Symbol Sustainability Policy http://www.asiasymbol.com/sustainability/sustainability-policy

[2] RGE Forestry, Fibre, Pulp and Paper Sustainability Frameworkoutlines our broader commitment to proactively support local communities, respect the rights of indigenous peoples and communities, responsible practices in our work places, conservation as part of our sustainable forestry business model, no deforestation, reduction of our carbon footprint and responsible peatland management. http://www.rgei.com/sustainability/sustainability-framework

[3] As defined by the FSC and High Conservation ValueResource Network (http://www.hcvnetwork.org/)/), High Conservation Value (HCV) areas contain particularly important conservation values including rare, threatened and endangered species and their habitat and areas with cultural or livelihood significance for local communities. The HCV approach is the process in which HCVs are identified, managed and monitored. https://www.hcvnetwork.org/about-hcvf/the-hcv-process-folder

[4] As HCS is a new concept, introduced primarily in Indonesia, Asia Symbol will use HCS criteria from the High Carbon Stock Approach toolkit(http://www.hcvnetwork.org/). These tools will ensure that Asia Symbol’s sourcing does not contribute forest loss according to the HCV Approach and to better assess pulp suppliers from Indonesia.

木片和木浆采购政策

亚太森博木片 和浆 采购政策是我们实施 《亚太森博可持续发展政策》[1]和《新加坡 金鹰集团森 林、纤维木浆及纸制品可持续发展框架》[2]的一部分 。亚太森博 不仅要实施 新加坡 金鹰集团 可持续发展框架中的要求,同时也将督促我们供应商落实相关。

承诺

亚太森博积极促进负责任的森林管理,与我们的供应商和其他相关方合作共同推动全球木片和浆供应链的可持续发展,保护古老濒危森林。

亚太森博将避免使用如下来源的木片和浆:

  • • 来自非法采伐和贸易;
  • • 来自高保护价值[3]和高碳储存[4]的森林、来自古老而濒危的森林或濒危物种的栖息地;(比如印尼天然热带林、加拿大北部森林、沿海亚热带雨林、亚马逊及西非森林)
  • • 来自古老而濒危的森林或濒危物种的栖息地;
  • • 来自天然林;
  • • 来自转基因林;
  • • 违反土著居民和社区“自由、事先和知情同意”的权利,而在他们拥有合法的、公共和传统权利的土地上运营而获得的;
  • • 违反工人权利或违反《国际劳工组织关于工作场所的基本原则和权利宣言》而获得的。

 

供应商沟通

亚太森博鼓励木片和浆供应商获得森林产品产销监管链认证, 例如森林管理委员会FSC®认证、森林认证体系认可计划PEFC®认证以及中国森林认证CFCC®

我们也鼓励供应商推行相关国家的可持续森林管理实践,在运营地实施“禁止火烧林地”的政策,在某些特定保护区域内开展森林保护工作。

亚太森博优先采购FSC®认证木片和浆,优先选择致力于森林保护以及泥炭地管理的供应商。

亚太森博要求供应商遵守《世界人权宣言》,并尊重土著居民及社区对其领地、土地以及资源所有拥有的合法权利、约定俗成的权利或使用权。

亚太森博要求供应商在新的人工林开发之前,知晓土著民及社区“自由、事先和知情同意”的权利,通过透明且负责的投诉机制以及双方认可的争议解决程序解决纠纷及冲突,纠正人权侵犯行为。

在必要时,亚太森博将停止与那些不能满足或不愿满足《木片和浆采购政策》的供应商合作。

追溯和透明

亚太森博将建立供应链追溯体系,以追踪我们木片和浆的来源。

亚太森博将实施一个由独立第三方评估的验证系统,并以透明的方式公布进展。

亚太森博的目标是实施持续改进。

 

发布时间:2015年12月8日

第二次更新:2017年9月28日

第三次更新:2020年11月18日

 

[1] 《亚太森博可持续发展政策》http://www.asiasymbol.com/sustainability/sustainability-policy

[2] 《新加坡金鹰集团森林、纤维、木浆及纸制品可持续发展框架》概括了积极支持当地社区、尊重原住民及社区权利、负责任的工作场合实践、可持续森林保护业务模式、零毁林、减少碳足迹以及泥炭地负责任管理的承诺http://www.rgei.com/sustainability/sustainability-framework

[3] FSC和高保护价值资源网络(http://www.hcvnetwork.org/)对高保护价值区域的定义包括有重要保护价值的,包括稀有、受威胁和濒危的物种及其栖息地,对当地社区有重要文化和生活价值的森林。高保护价值森林评估方法包括识别、管理以及监测:https://www.hcvnetwork.org/about-hcvf/the-hcv-process-folder

[4] 高碳汇森林的概念最先来源于印尼,亚太森博将使用高碳汇相关条款以及工具包(http://www.hcvnetwork.org/)中的标准。这些方法和工具将确保亚太森博木片采购不会造成森林覆盖面减少,并更好的对印尼木片供应商进行评估。